Parco Nazionale dei Monti Sibillini

Protected Area

Identity Card

  • Monti Sibillini National Park:
    • Land Surface Area: 71'437.00 ha
    • Protected wildlife: 142 species  (Italian text)
    • Habitats: 15 types (Italian text)
    • Regions: Marche, Umbria
    • Provinces: Ascoli Piceno, Fermo, Macerata, Perugia
    • Municipalities: Amandola, Arquata del Tronto, Bolognola, Castelsantangelo sul Nera, Cessapalombo, Fiastra, Montefortino, Montegallo, Montemonaco, Norcia, Pieve Torina, Preci, San Ginesio, Ussita, Valfornace, Valfornace, Visso
    • Establishment Measures: L 67 11/03/1988 - L 305 28/8/89, DDMM 13/7/89 e 3/2/90, DPR 6/08/1993
    • PA Official List: EUAP0002
  • Further managed Protected Areas:
    • ZSC Colle Galluccio
    • ZSC Faggete del S. Lorenzo
    • ZSC Gola del Fiastrone
    • ZSC Monte Bove
    • ZSC Monte Porche - Palazzo Borghese - Monte Argentella
    • ZSC Monte Vettore e Valle del lago di Pilato
    • ZSC Pian Perduto
    • ZSC Val di Fibbia - Valle dell'Acquasanta
    • ZSC Valle dell'Ambro
    • ZSC Valle dell'Infernaccio - Monte Sibilla
    • ZSC e ZPS Monte Oialona - Colle Propezzano
    • ZSC e ZPS Valle Rapegna e Monte Cardosa
    • Zona Speciale di Conservazione e Zona di Protezione Speciale Monti Sibillini

Establishment Rules
The Park Plan




Among the ten peaks above the 2,000m of altitude one can distinguish Mt. Vettore (2,476m), Mt. Sibilla (2,175m), the peak of the Redentore (2,448m), Mt. Priora (2,332m), and Mt. Argentella (2,200m).
Descending from the main axis of the Apennine ridge, an eastern slope characterized by narrow valleys oriented northwards (the valleys of the Aso, of the Tenna, and of the Ambro), and a western slope in which one can find three typical depressions of the high altitudes: Piani di Castelluccio (Pian perduto, Pian grande, and Pian piccolo).
From the massif of the Sibillini spring the rivers Aso, Tenna, Ambro, and Nera. In the Park there are also the artificial Lake of Fiastra, and, under the peak of Mt. Vettore, the Lake of Pilato (1,940m).

Photo by Territory


There are 1,800 floral species in the Park, among which the Apenninic edelweiss, the yellow Alpine Pasque-flower, the moss campion, the martagon lily, the bearberry, and a number of orchids. Among the arboreal species there are the downy oak (Quercus pubescens), the hop hornbeam (Ostrya carpinifolia), the manna ash (Fraxinus ornus), the turkey oak (Quercus cerris), the hornbeam (Carpinus betulus), the chestnut tree (Castanea sativa), the holm oak (Quercus ilex), the beech (Fagus silvatica), and the sycamore maple (Acer pseudoplatanus).

Photo by Flora


There are 50 species of mammals like the wolf, the porcupine, the wild cat, the rare marten, the snow vole, and the roe deer which has been recently reintroduced. The otter has extinguished.
There are 150 kinds of birds, such as the golden eagle, the peregrine, the eagle owl, the goshawk, the sparrow hawk, the rock partridge, the wall creeper, the snow finch, and the chough.
Over 20 kinds of reptiles and invertebrates can be found, such as the Orsini viper and Chirocephalus Marchesonii, a small crustacea living exclusively in the Lake of Pilato. 

Photo by Fauna

Churches and Museums...

The Park is rich in important architectonic ruins which must be admired together with their landscape: abbeys, monasteries, churches, towers, castles, fortresses, mills, and house towers.
Among the others: the Church of SS. Vincenzo and Anastasio (Amandola), the Sanctuary of the Madonna dell'Ambro (Montefortino), S. Maria in Casalicchio (Montemonaco), S. Maria in Pantano (Montegallo), the Monastery of Montesanto (S. Pellegrino of Norcia), S. Scolastica and Madonna delle Grazie (Norcia), S. Salvatore (Campi di Norcia), the Abbey of S. Eutizio (Preci), the Sanctuary of Macereto (Visso), S. Maria di Rio Sacro (Acquacanina), S. Maroto (Pievebovigliana), the Hermitage of the Grotta dei Frati (Cessapalombo), and the Sanctuary of San Liberato (S. Ginesio).

Photo by Churches and Museums...
share-stampashare-mailQR Codeshare-facebookshare-twitter
© 2024 - Ente Parco Nazionale dei Monti Sibillini